Street Cock fighting Cambodia

Street Cock fighting Cambodia

Yes cock fighting as well as public stoning is alive and kicking in Phnom Penh.

But lucky for the cocks or roosters, as my Australian Neighbour used to call them after they woke him up every bloody morning, they lived on this occasion . Or rather one was not torn apart.

It might have been a practice run for the real thing. They were a few scruffy looking guys on the street ,smoking and chewing the fat and carrying these birds. Later on they placed them down and there was a fight. I took out the fuji x10 and shot on my settings with a low film speed incase some pixal counting jerk commented later. Not really I thought I would blow this up big and wanted detail.

The camera seemed to work in the bright sun and the guys did not seem to mind me taking shots. Of course they thought it really funny that I was.

I photoshopped them away later. I also got my guy at lucky photos to photo shop the rubbich on the street.

In actual fact when he eventually realised what I wanted to do he refused to do it. His real job is to make brides beautiful smiling and blemishless. Not work on fighting cocks.

You see the 15 or so shots I took where good but this was the only one that had them flying at each other and I had managed to cut most of the body of the cock on the left clean out of the picture. So I got my guy to reverse the body on the right hand side cock to the left feather it in (get it) and completely fictionise the shadow. In fact you can see identical debris in the shadow he forgot to photo shop away.

He had just woke up and was in bad mood. Maybe I should learn photoshop..

So we have 2 flying cocks in the bright sun. I had to bumb up the contrast but in my view it does not work as I took it in the mid morning sun.

When a few feathers went flying they stopped the fight.

Leave a Reply

