Pimped Camera X-E1

Pimped Camera X-E1

Brassing an XE1

How to pimp brass your X-E1. First paint it black with oil based paint trying to avoid the important bits like the sensor. Black looks good but what about a bit of brassing to make it look like an old rangefinder after many years of use and when the paint has worn off to show the brass body?

I tried gold spray paint as I could not find gold paint. . I taped up the camera and protected it and then over sprayed it . It looked terrible. Not like a brassed camera at all. So I scraped the paint of with my thumb nail. This in turn aged the leatherette very quickly. I repainted it black. Then applied gold nail polish to the top and bottom.

This in my opinion works if you do not look too closely.

Every time I look at my camera I really do think it is made of brass and it is an antique . But I would not try this if you are ever thinking of selling your camera. My girl friend reminded me of this before the paint was dry but it was too late by then .

Leave a Reply

